binge watching

I’ll be the first to admit that I watch a lot of Netflix and Hulu.  I have to have background noise of people talking in order to be productive, so if I’m doing any sort of project around the house, there is something mindless playing*.

Jane the Virgin. Based on a telenovela, I definitely thought that Jane the Virgin sounded ridiculous when I first heard about it.  Over time, I heard about the political statements it was making through the show, and I filed it away as a show to watch when I didn’t have anything going on.  When I found the first season at my library over the summer, I knew it was time.  Silly, relatable, normal fashion choices (I hate when the working class daughter is wearing a $300 sweater on other shows) and 2 cute boys?  Done.  I recently watched the second season in two days on Netflix and don’t regret it.  If you want to watch everything now, including the current season, things are tricky.  Netflix and CW have a deal where nothing gets played on Hulu.  Something to look forward to next summer though!

The Crown. I love historical books and programing, so this Netflix show about Queen Elizabeth the Second coming into power is especially good.  I absolutely adore how the Queen is struggling to figuring out how to be the best sister, daughter, wife and mother, all the while trying to take on the role of Queen and be the face of a nation.

Penny Dreadful.  I have been obsessed with vampire/witch stories since I was about 12.  My midwest mother was very concerned based on the traits of the characters, I don’t even know if she realized how much sex was going on.  (seriously, why does it seem that vampires, witches and these other ‘dark’ people have the best sex?) But here’s the thing, I also get crazy nightmares from pretty much anything.  I was a little apprehensive when someone told me that I’d like Penny Dreadful, but they proved to be right.  The show is definitely dark and depressing, but it has an undertone of hope and the faith of overcoming obstacles.  And yes, I did have some pretty gnarly nightmares while watching.

Young and Hungry. I have no idea how to stream ABC Family shows, so Young and Hungry and Pretty Little Liars are binge watched at the end.  This show is ridiculous and not very believable (who really wears heels while cooking all day long?), but it’s silly enough that you’ll giggle out your issues of the day in a couple of episodes.

If anyone has any ideas of other TV shows that I can mindlessly watch while I scroll through Pinterest and go about my day, please let me know!

*My preferred mindless TV programs are either the Real Housewives or cooking competitions.  Both have good narration and you won’t miss a thing if you’re putting a load of laundry in the wash.

postive thoughts go here

