post Mardi Grad ramblings

I feel like this blog has become all sporadic posts about catching up. I’m not going to say that I’ve been busy. Anymore, I feel like people use the term “busy” as a replacement for “not a priority”. And I don’t feel bad admitting that keeping up on Everyday Meremaid hasn’t been a priority lately, although I have realized how much I need it as an outlet.
So let’s catch up:
I decided at the beginning of the year to quit soda. And I’ve only had 7 since the first of January. Every now and then, I’ll grab a venti dirty iced chai from Starbucks, but my wallet needs that habit to stop.
I gave up dating apps for Lent again. I keep finding that I’m so underwhelmed by the boys I talk to, or meet one I like and get ghosted. Props to me though, I blocked and deleted the one I had gone out with and really liked when I realized he was SnapStorying his Valentine’s date. Hash tag death to hinge hubs. I’m done with letting boys in who hurt my heart, even if it’s just for a day or two. And I’m also done with having sex with boys who have no idea what they’re doing.
Mardi Gras came and went. And it was the most fun hot mess ever. A lot of people ask me why I don’t go out at night a lot. And Mardi Gras definitely showed them why. I’m talking a concussion (and refusing a trip to the hospital), making so many new best friends who I would definitely not recognize in the daytime sober, and waking up to three 19 year old boys in my apartment. (none of whom I hooked up
with). I will keep sticking with my day drinking/brunch/shopping combo and bottles of wine and bubble baths at home.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Also, Mardi Gras photos had me realize just how much I need highlights. Hello, goal for February.
I woke up Sunday and realized I am roughly three months from my 29th birthday. So I decided to start BBG with a vengeance on Monday. Simply thinking about birthday fun (and birthday dresses) should keep me on track.

postive thoughts go here

