{adventures} last day in NOLA

Honestly, thinking about my last day in New Orleans already has me aching to go on another adventure.  Since my trip left my broke self even broker, I’ll be sticking around Eldora for a while and living vicariously through other people’s travel adventures.

Let’s get started on what happened my final day in the Big Easy.

{World War II museum from the Ogden}
{World War II museum from the Ogden}

Once again, it was a rainy day.  I seriously should have packed (bought) some rain boots and not stuffed so many maxi dresses in my carry-on.  These Hunter rainboots and my trusty cut-offs could have meant I was traipsing through the city, regardless of the weather.  #nexttime

Once again I decided to head to a museum.  After a creepy run in with a man who didn’t seem to understand that no means no, I was happy to be alone in a crowd and dry at the World War II museum. 

When I went to school in New Orleans, I always meant to find a day to go, but never did.  That meant that everything I saw was new, amazing and humbling.  Seriously, these men (and women) left their homes to fight and knew that the chances of any communication with their loved ones back home was pretty close to impossible.  While I have mad respect for people who choose to serve in the military now, there’s something about those boys from way back that just pull on me.

photos of Japanese Americans who were put into internment camps
photos of Japanese Americans who were put into internment camps

While I had grown up knowing a little about these camps for Japanese-Americans, I really didn’t have a whole lot of knowledge about what occurred at these sites.  It’s definitely a sad thing to realize that generations long ago had such little respect and so much intense fear of their other countrymen.  It makes one, well me, want to do better when it comes to showing respect and standing up for my fellow American humans, regardless of what makes them different.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

After a few hours of reading all the stories and seeing all the artifacts, I decided it was time to head out to the city.  And honestly, I was just really overwhelmed by everything. So I made the trip to the French Quarter…on foot. blisters be damned.

The Mighty Mississippi
The Mighty Mississippi
Holocaust Memorial
Holocaust Memorial
Cafe Du Monde
Cafe Du Monde

After walking along the river, my first stop was Cafe Du Monde.  1. I was starving.  2. How could I not?  I totally had two orders of beignets and I don’t care if you judge me for it.  My love of fried dough and powdered sugar is just too much to handle sometimes.

Next, I had to walk off my guilt.

Jackson Square
Jackson Square

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Seriously, Jackson Square is just the prettiest.  I love the idea of eloping in New Orleans with the St Louis Cathedral in the background. I looked at all the art, talked myself out of getting my palm and tarot cards read*, and continued to work on finding the perfect surprises for my brothers belated birthday boxes.

After 3 hours of popping into shops, drinking a few frozen daiquiris to beat the heat and soaking in the humid air, I decided it was finally time to head back to my hotel and start packing up to head home.  And just in time too.  As soon as I got to my room’s door, there was another downpour.

*I’ve always wanted to get my palm and tarot cards read, but I might have been giving my cash to homeless people with pets.

postive thoughts go here

