{adventures} from magazine street to uptown

I seriously drank 2 of these on Saturday night.  Plus 3 shots with a rabid LSU fan.  I was toasty.
I seriously drank 2 of these on Saturday night. Plus 3 shots with a rabid LSU fan. I was toasty.

I spent most of Sunday morning in New Orleans cuddled up in bed with Bravo and bagels that I had snagged from the hotel’s continental breakfast.  I finally started to become more of a human around noon, which is when another round of walking started.

First I hit up Magazine Street.

I beat the heat with a strawberry shortcake milkshake.
I beat the heat with a strawberry shortcake milkshake from Sucre.

After enjoying a yummy milkshake, and staying away from all of the yummy baked goods, I started to explore all the shops.  Cause really, what did anyone expect me to do?

{fleurty girl}
{fleurty girl}

My first stop was Fleurty Girl.  I’ve been in love with this shop since I first walked into it’s Oak Street location forever ago.  It does not disappoint if you’re hoping for some New Orleans gifts that don’t have a Bourbon Street flair.  I actually went to both the Magazine Street and St Peter Street locations during my trip.  And bought things both times.  That’s how great this store is.  I purchased the shirt above, these collars for Scotti and Diego, a couple of Water Meter coasters, and some gifts for Patric and Isaac’s belated birthdays.

{storyville}
{storyville}

Next I stopped at Storyville for a Tulane V-Neck.  Because totally necessary.  They had a ton of other Tulane and New Orleans inspired tops that I just loved, but I only had so much suitcase space.

After ducking in and out of a stores for about 8 more blocks, I decided to hop on the streetcar to rinse off before going to explore Tulane’s campus uptown.  I had burrito plans with one of my favorite girls from Tulane and her new husband, so I thought I should keep on burning all those silly calories.

st charles mansion st charles mansion st charles mansion st charles mansionI did some house hunting on the streetcar as a headed uptown.

a selfie at my most expensive/legendary bad decision
a selfie at my most expensive/legendary bad decision

tulane street car art tulane entryway tulane green wave football statue st charles aveOnce Uptown, I wandered through some of my memories.  I had a drink at the Boot, glimpsed the new Yulman Stadium, looked at all the changes to Tulane’s campus, and got invited to a frat party.

Later on I met up with my friend Rachael and her new husband for mexican and catching up on 5 years of everything we missed out on.

This was honestly one of the best Sundays of my summer.

postive thoughts go here

