{adventures} escaping the rain at the ogden

Will I or won't I beat the clouds to the Odgen? #itsarace

A post shared by Meredith (@midwestmere) on

Going to New Orleans during hurricane season is full of what-ifs.  What if it rains every day?  What if my umbrella gets jacked? What if the weather traps me in the city?  Whatever.  As I was leaving my house on Friday, I remembered at the very last minute to grab one of my rain jackets.  I made sure to grab my yellow, goodwill find.  That way if I lost it while out and about, I wouldn’t be stressed about the monetary value.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

On Saturday, after sleeping in in that giant, glorious bed, I decided to walk the 1/4 mile to the Ogden Museum of Southern Art.  This place was one of my favorite ways to spend an afternoon when I was at Tulane University.

My first attempt to leave left me utterly soaked before I even left the block of my hotel room.  No bueno.  So after heading back to my room and changing, then checking Weather.com to see when the rain my let up for just 20 minutes, I headed out again.

And got only really wet instead of superduper wet.

IMG_6932

Whatever.  After handing my soggy jacket to the security/coat check man, I was off to explore!

IMG_6930 IMG_6929

This painting just brings up so many rural memories.
This painting just brings up so many rural memories.
Can you find all the stars from other famous pieces?
Can you find all the stars from other famous pieces?
I think we've all seen this look on some old mans face before.
I think we’ve all seen this look on some old mans face before.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

I cannot wait to make babies and start having their portraits made.
I cannot wait to make babies and start having their portraits made.

There were windows so that one could peek outside to see if the weather had changed.  Or get photos of the scenery.

IMG_6931 Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Once I soaked up all the southern culture that the museum would give me, I headed back out into the sprinkles.    There will still some fun sights to be seen outside.

collections of visitor stickers
collections of visitor stickers
A chalkboard where people could post their goals.
A chalkboard where people could post their goals.

I wrapped up my visit with a trip to Lucy’s Retired Surfer Bar for some lunch and lots of bloody marys.  I even made new friends for the day and wandered with them for a few hours before pouring myself into bed at 7 for a nice nap.  We won’t get too into that though, I honestly don’t remember too much. 

postive thoughts go here

